Skip to content

Red Lizard- I think its a Florida Scrub Lizard

November 7, 2009

DSCF5648

Red Lizard?

Red Lizard-2

Red on white

   

Has any on seen a Red Lizard?

This isn’t the name of the lizard, I’m actually asking if anyone has seen a lizard that is the color red.

I know some creatures camouflage when they are next to something, but my little friend is not changing colors.

I have seen him around for at least three years now.

He hides next to my plants on one side of my house only.

I looked him up and cannot find anyone like him.

I found one with a red head only.

I found one with patterns like his but not his color.

His family lives with him.

I believe he has about four family members, give and take, depending on who survived and who got eaten.

If anyone know anything, let me know.

Everyday he keeps asking me where the rest of his relatives are

 so he can visit them this coming Thanksgiving.

Red Lizard-1

Have you seen my relatives?

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 1:11 am

    Could this be the brick red morph of the brown anole (Anolis sagrei)? Introduced into Florida and aggressively outcompeting the native green anole.

    • November 29, 2009 10:10 pm

      Ted, I think your right, I think it is a anole lizard that can change to red when the tempature is hot. Thanks for the help in identifying this little guy!

  2. Susan permalink
    November 10, 2011 2:19 pm

    Jeanie, we have a similar-looking red lizard living on our patio in Jupiter, FL. He took residence in a Bonsai tree for a couple of days and has now moved on to another plant. My husband left out some shredded cheese for him and he ate it. He is not afraid of us when we approach him to take his picture.

    Tonight it is supposed to drop down to 50 degrees or so, so I’ll see if he loses his red coloring.

    • November 29, 2011 11:27 pm

      Susan, I am curious if he lost his red when it got cold. Our little guy never did.

  3. Cindy miller permalink
    July 29, 2013 3:50 pm

    I,be seen a red lizard in the backyard, it’s stays on the side of the house, in Titusville, Fla. I guess he isn’t, t rare?

  4. John permalink
    September 20, 2014 1:26 pm

    We have the same thing in Coral Springs, Florida. About 15 years ago we had a few with redish heads and now they are completely red . Even their eggs are red. I believe this to be a multi generational morph. Perhaps from eating red ants? Don’t know but they are cool!

  5. Anthony Nethersole permalink
    October 9, 2014 8:07 pm

    I have recently begun to see one in my side-yard, here in Margate, Florida. I have not seen any red ants however.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

